Bashful Birds

Last week I had come across a post on the social networking site for locals, Neighbourly, that talked of incubating eggs from fallen and abandoned nests in my local area. The woman was a local bird lady who cared for sick birds she was given and found in parks. She had acquired a professional incubating device for eggs and was notifying neighbours in our area of its availability.

Her post was met with a number of eager neighbours mentioning instances where they had needed her and that they would keep her in mind for the future.

I made contact with Maddie this week and she was initially receptive to the idea of having a story written about her and her efforts, despite being a very busy woman. However this all changed when I disclosed that I was wanting to take photographs and video to accompany the story. Maddie told me that she has a really great phobia of media/photography and respectfully declined to be a part of the story.

Unfortunately for me this development means I am shut out in the cold with two weeks to find, investigate and produce a new story.

I have my eye on a string of thefts and break ins that have occurred in the last week or so in my neighbourhood that appear connected. In light of announcements of the new hard line on burglary by police, there may be critical angle to be found.

Leave a Reply

